“You have the voice of a King and a good ear for Music”


Image

“You have the voice of a King and a good ear for Music” By the time I turned 19 years of age this quote was stamped into my forehead so to speak. Every time I looked in the mirror I could hear my grandmother saying to someone that I had a King voice.  Every time I talked to a different girl on the phone I was told that they loved the way I sounded talking over the phone which led to long late night conversations. When I moved to Southern California I had my first taste of what Hollywood had to say About my voice. The very first girl in Cali that I dated told me that I should be a Djay and she was not playing, telling me over and over again.

One day I was Playing around on my Aunt Peggy’s Grand piano. Note that I couldn’t read any music and never took any music classes. I was only Playing notes from Marvin Gaye’s Classic “lets Get it on” one finger at a time. She made it her business to tell me that she needed sheet music notes in front of her just to do that and that I should really look into music some sort of way because she noticed some sort of gift that I didn’t know was there.

After my first trip back to Mississippi I bought a Yamaha RX-7 drum machine and started Playing around with it. At the time I didn’t even know what a snare drum was at least by name, so I began my long road to teaching myself how to produce and compose music, with a little help from a friend or two. Around this time My cousin K-Dog and I were hitting every talent show that we found out about and doing as many public shows as possible.

We did as much recording as we could on Demo four track recorders until we were ready to book some time at a commercial studio. Our first real studio session taught me a lot about myself. This was a $100,000 studio In Jackson, Ms where Bands came from all around and companies recorded commercials for major car dealerships. I will never forget the engineer’s name Ragan Murphy, he told us (AceCrew) That we were the first ones to ever come into the studio knowing what we were doing. I knew how to chain all of my midi channels on my devices up to sync with his computer as well as all proper bus routes for whatever sound track being recorded.

We were in and out of the studio within 2 hrs, recorded 2 songs and spent $400 on studio time and media. We had just finished recording what would be of first local hit songs “M-Town Mackin” & “Confused as a kid” which were both featured on Local area stations for years. “Yeah, I think I’ll be doing music for the rest of my life LOL” I think back to how it was when we first started and how much technology has changed in such a short time. We were way ahead of our time and loving it.

I just want to thank all the people along the way who saw something in me that I didn’t see in myself. Without you all I would not be recording artist JboneAce, I would not know what it feels like to hear my songs played on the radio air waves and I never would have heard a fan riding by in their car playing my songs on there systems. Thanks for all the support over the years, without you all I would not have had the motivation to build the platform that I stand on today, I love you all.

Leave a Reply

